A Blog Series From Education Leaders

While there is no one-size-fits-all approach to learning continuity, thought leaders in education have shared what they believe are the nine pillars districts need to succeed with remote learning in the future.

In this nine-part blog series, leaders from across the nation share what these pillars are, why they’re essential, and how to incorporate them into a learning continuity plan so you can provide sustainable, effective learning for every student, in any circumstance.


Committed to supporting students, educators and administrators, this highly respected and deeply experienced group of education leaders have agreed to share their knowledge, advice, and expertise through this series. Learn more about each member of this trusted group of former CTO’s, technology directors, and thought leaders below.

Diane Doersch

Diane is currently the Technical Project Director at Digital Promise and a Certified Educational Technology Leader (CETL). She is the former CTO/CIO of Green Bay Area Public SD, WI.

Frankie Jackson

Frankie is the Director of Strategic Initiatives for the Texas K-12 CTO Council. She serves on CoSN’s advisory board for the Driving K-12 Innovation initiative and is the former CTO of Cypress Fairbanks ISD, TX.

Sheryl Abshire

Sheryl is a past Chair of CoSN and former CTO of Calcasieu Parish Public Schools. She currently serves on numerous national, state, and district committees focused on the role of technology and curriculum integration in changing educational practices.

Donna Williamson

Donna is the facilitator for CoSN’s Early Career K-12 CTO Academy. She is a founding member of Alabama Leaders in Education Technology (ALET), the former Technology Director for Mountain Brook Schools, AL, and served as a CoSN board member.

Jerri Kemble

Jerri is currently the National Academic Advisor for ClassLink. She served as the Asst. Supt. for Lawrence Public Schools, KS and as the former Supt. for Centre School District, KS.

Ann McMullan

Ann currently serves as Project Director for CoSN’s Empowered Superintendents Initiative. Previously, she was the Executive Director of Educational Technology for Klein ISD, TX and served as the co-chair of the Texas Education Agency’s Technology Advisory Committee.

Shelley Rossitto

Shelley is the former Executive Director of IT/PD at Monticello Central School District, NY. She is also the former Coordinator of Technology for Orange-Ulster BOCES, Goshen, NY.

Gene Silverman

Gene spent 27 years as the Executive Director of the Nassau BOCES Department of Regional Schools and Instructional Programs.

Laurence Cocco

Laurence is a former Director of Educational Technology for the NJ Department of Education. He also served as the Media Integration Project Director for Jersey City Public Schools, NJ.

Explore the Series

Explore the foundation for a successful learning continuity plan with this nine-part blog series. Links to each entry can be found below.